Mack Scogin and Chris Reed awarded Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award

The Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt Director Bill Moggridge announced the winners of the 2012 National Design Awards, which recognize excellence across a variety of disciplines. Among the recipients are GSD faculty Mack Scogin and Chris Reed, who will be honored at a gala dinner on Oct. 17 in New York. 
“The National Design Awards program is Cooper-Hewitt’s largest and most widespread educational initiative and celebrates the full spectrum of American design practice,” said Moggridge.  “The provocative work of this year’s winners truly shapes the way we experience the world.”
Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects won the NDA for Architecture Design, given to an individual or firm for exceptional and exemplary work in public, commercial, or residential architectural design. Mack Scogin and Merrill Elam have worked together in architecture for over forty years. Founded in 1984, their Atlanta-based firm has won international acclaim for diverse work that ranges from a sleek factory for Herman Miller to the Lulu Chow Wang Campus Center for Wellesley College and commercial office space for Tishman Speyer Properties. 
Stoss Landscape Urbanism was awarded the prize in Landscape Architecture for exceptional and exemplary work in urban planning or park and garden design. Stoss Landscape Urbanism is a Boston-based collaborative design and planning studio that operates at the juncture of landscape architecture, urban design and planning. The firm was established in 2000 by founding principal Chris Reed; Scott Bishop joined as associate principal in 2005. Stoss has distinguished itself for a hybridized approach rooted in infrastructure, functionality and ecology. 
Participating on this year’s jury were Charles Waldheim and alumna Jeanne Gang.