Student team critical for Infrastructure 360 Awards

A remarkable interdisciplinary team of 12 students representing all GSD departments worked with project leader Andreas Georgoulias (lecturer in architecture and research director of the Zofnass Program for Sustainable Architecture) to implement the Infrastructure 360 Awards.

The awards (formally the Inter-American Development Bank Private Sector Infrastructure Sustainability Awards) have been designed in partnership with the IDB to promote sustainable approaches to infrastructure projects undertaken by the private sector and public-private partnerships in IDB member countries. Eighteen countries in Latin America and the Caribbean submitted more than 50 project applications, including airports, waste water treatment plants, highways, energy transmission lines and wind farms.

The GSD team included Julie Mercier and Maria Ignacia (MDesS ‘15 in Risk & Resilience); Juan Cristaldo (MAUD ’13); Arianna Galan (MArch I ’15); Jennifer Lee, Emanuel Torres, Marianne Barrera, Manuela Guzman (all MAUD ’14); Isabella Royo (MLA ’16) and Judith Rodriguez (MLA ’13). Research associates Hatzav Yoffee (MLA 2013) and Cristina Contreras worked with the students to use the Envision rating system developed at Zofnass to conduct detailed project assessments and develop case studies.

In January a jury of international climate and sustainability experts convened to select 3 winners based on the GSD team’s reports. The awards showcased outstanding practices with emphasis on climate and environment, social impact, governance, collaboration and innovation, and were given out last week at the IDB annual meeting in Bahia, Brazil.

The Infrastructure 360 Awards highlight the GSD’s impact and leadership in the Latin American region, as well as the school’s mission and interdisciplinary approach in design, which are fully in alignment with IDB’s commitment to sustainable development. The team is now preparing a 400-page publication on the research and getting ready for the next award cycle in 2014-2015.

Learn more on the Zofnass and IDB websites.