Four recent graduates named 2020-2021 Irving Innovation Fellows

Image from "Death, Divorce, Down-sizing, Dislocation, and (Now) Display: A Self-Storage Center for a More Exhibitionist Future" by Hyojin Kwon (MArch ’18). Kwon worked on the project as a 2018-19 Irving Innovation Fellow.

Four recent graduates have been selected as Irving Innovation Fellows for the 2020-2021 academic year. Established as part of a gift from the John E. Irving Family in 2013, the Fellowship offers recipients a platform for continued work with the Harvard Graduate School of Design beyond their time as students. This year’s cohort will be affiliated with the Innovation Task Force, which formed in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic to research and develop new innovations in virtual design pedagogy.

With degrees in Urban Design, Landscape Architecture, Architecture, and the Master in Design Students program, this year’s recipients are:
Sarah Fayad (MLAUD ’20)
Isabella Frontado (MDes ADPD/ MLA I ’20)
Gia Jung (MArch I ’20)
Ian Miley (MArch I AP ’20)

“The applications were incredibly impressive,” said Sarah M. Whiting, Dean and Josep Lluís Sert Professor of Architecture. “It’s uplifting to see the what extraordinary talent is coursing through the school. Previous recipients have remarked on the Fellowship’s power to extend research and inquiry beyond the space of an academic term, to help bridge theory and practice, and to inspire new ways of researching and designing; I look forward to what this year’s talented cohort of Fellows will accomplish.”