Please note: the AIA Henry Adams Certificate was discontinued in 2018; the information below serves to archive past information and award winners.

Awarded By

American Institute of Architects


In 1915, through its president Mr. R. C. Sturgis, the American Institute of Architects offered the university a certificate to be awarded each year upon nomination by the faculty in the Department of Architecture to that graduate of the professional degree program in architecture who has shown the second-highest average of excellence throughout the course of study in the program. The award is given for “general excellence in architecture throughout the four-year course to graduating students of architecture schools recognized by the Institute.”

Nature of Award

Type of award:
Honors (medal, certificate, book, trophy, etc)

Full description of award:
Certificate, letter

Number Available



General restrictions:

  • Must be Harvard student
  • Must be GSD student
  • Specific degree/program (see below)

Full description of eligibility restrictions:
Graduating MArch I students


Departmental vote

Basis of Award

2nd highest academic achievement



When Awarded



Architecture Dept (Rm 207)

Previous Winners Include:

2018: Shaowen Zhang
2017: David Hamm
James Murray
2016: Iman Fayyad
2015: Joan Tom
2014: Linda Zhang
2013: Curtis Perrin
2012: Stephanie Lin
2011: Theodore Baab
2010: Mattie Lou Thompson
2009: Emily Pearl
2008: Joshua Jay Dannenberg
2007: Grace Mun Wah Leung
2006: Matthew David Snyder
2005: Aziza Chaouni
2004: Jeannette Kuo
2003: Yenche Tioanda
2002: Kyle Dugdale
2001: Tinchuck Agnes Ng
2000: Jennifer Lee
1999: Thomas Ahlem
1998: Zeynep Celik
1997: David Mae
1996: John Hang
1995: Sarah Watts Cairns