Established in 1993 by Moshe Safdie and family, friends, and colleagues, in memory of Peter Rice, the Peter Rice Prize honors students of exceptional promise in the school’s architecture and advanced degree programs who have proven their competence and innovation in advancing architecture and structural engineering.

Peter Rice (1935-1992) was an Irish structural engineer who collaborated with some of the most talented architects of the late 20th century, including I. M. Pei, Renzo Piano, and Richard Rogers, on buildings that became icons of contemporary design, including the Sydney Opera House, Pompidou Centre, and Lloyd’s of London. He was renowned for his innate ability to act as both an engineer and designer, bringing a uniquely poetic feeling to his work.

For deadline and submission information, please visit GSD Now.

Recent recipients include:

2023: Sujie Park (MArch I ’23) for Material Alchemy
2022: Hangsoo Jeong (MArch I ’22) for three projects
2021: Erin Linsey Hunt (MDes Tech ’21) and Yaxuan Liu (MArch I ’21) for NuBlock
2020: Peteris Lazovskis (MArch I ’20)
2019: Willem Bogardus (MArch I ’21) and Daniel Tish (DDes ’22)
2018: Spyridon Ampanavos (MDes ’16, DDes ’21) and Nicole Bakker (MDE ’18) and Peter Osborne (MDes ’19)
2016: Manuel Martinez Alonso (MDes ’17)
2015: Jeonghyun Kim (MArch II ’15)
2014: Juhun Lee (MDes ’14) and Ana Garcia Puyol (MDes ’14)
2013: Jose Luis Garcia del Castillo Lopez (MDes ’13, DDes ’19)
2012: Carlos Felix Raspall Galli (DDes ’15)
2011: Sandra Herrera Martinez (MArch II ’11)