Student teams win first-place awards in 2013-2014 NESEA Net-Zero Design Competition

Two GSD student teams won first-place awards in the 2013-2014 Northeast Sustainable Energy Association (NESEA) Net-Zero Energy Design Competition. The first team won the Residential New Construction Division, and was led by Kanika Arora (MDes ’15), Abhinay Sharma (MDes ’14), Baha Sadreddin (MDes ’15) and Rohit Goyal (GSAS), with faculty advisor Holly Samuelson. The second team won the Commercial Renovation Division and was led by Johannes Staudt (MDes ’14), Saurabh Shrestha (MDes ’14), and Tom Sherman (MDes ’14), with faculty advisor Kiel Moe.

The competition called for low-energy, aesthetically conscious, architectural designs coupled with supporting energy simulation analysis. Seventeen teams participated, and the GSD entered and won two of the four divisions. Learn more about the design competition.


Image courtesy Baha Sadreddin, Kanika Arora, Abhinay.