In 1992, Lyyli Lamsa Newton created a fund in memory of her late husband, Norman T. Newton, Charles Eliot Professor of Landscape Architecture Emeritus of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design, for an annual prize to be awarded to a graduating landscape architecture student, whose work best exemplifies achievement in design expression as realized in any medium.

Recent recipients include:
Siwen Xie MLA '20
Ting Liang MLA '19
Matthew Wong MLA '18
Jeremy Hartley MLA '17 and Hannah Gaengler MLA '17
Natasha Polozenko MLA '16
Ken Chongsuwat MLA '15