National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The Harvard University Graduate School of Design’s Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB accredited degree programs:

Master of Architecture  (non-pre-professional degree + 105 graduate credit hours on the NAAB scale)

Note: this is equivalent to 140 units in the GSD course unit calculations.

Master of Architecture AP (pre-professional degree + 75 graduate credit hours on the NAAB scale)

Note: this is equivalent to 100 units in the GSD course unit calculations.

Next accreditation visit for the MArch: 2027

Access to NAAB Conditions and Procedures

Conditions for Accreditation, 2020 Edition

Conditions for Accreditation in effect at the time of the last visit, 2014

Procedures for Accreditation, 2020 Edition

Procedures for Accreditation in effect at the time of the last visit, 2015

Accreditation Reports and Related Documents

Most recent Architecture Program Report, 2017

Most recent Visting Team Report, 2018

Most recent NAAB decision letter, 2018

2018 NAAB Annual Report

2019 NAAB Annual Report

2020 NAAB Annual Report

2021 NAAB Annual Report

2022 NAAB Annual Report

Links to MArch Program Admissions and Support

Admissions Policies and Procedures

Student Financial Information

Career Development

NCARB ARE Pass Rates

Studio Culture Policy

Diversity, Equity and Belonging

Professional Licensure

The Master of Architecture (MArch) program, combined with practical experience, leads to professional licensure from the National Council of Architecture Registration Board. Harvard has not determined whether the program meets the educational requirements for professional licensure in any state other than Massachusetts.

NAAB Accredited MArch Badge