One urban planning student is nominated by the faculty from each school accredited by the Planning Accreditation Board to receive the Outstanding Student Award given by the American Planning Association (APA).

Recent GSD nominees include:

22-23 M.C. Abbott (MUP)

21-22 Ben Demers (MUP)

20-21 Steven Gu (MUP)

19-20 Juan Reynoso (MUP/MPP)

18-19 Eleni Macrakis (MUP)

17-18 Jeanette Pantoja (MUP)

16-17 Lindsay Woodson (MUP/MDes RR)